How do you say “oops!” in Italian?

Arrived back in LA Friday night after a long and uneventful two-part flight in Delta through JFK Airport in New York. Comparisons are odious, but I have to say that Delta’s service and comfort level were superior to Alitalia’s in almost every respect. Today I discovered, much to my dismay, that several draft posts with little or no content, had accidentally been published. I’ve deleted them.

What happened? I had neglected to trash several draft posts that I had scheduled ahead of time with the intention to fill in with details and a picture or two. I never got to them because, as I mentioned in my previous post, the Internet connection was less than ideal in the Casa Tra Noi Hotel in Rome. That and, well, I was tired too.

All sorts of feelings, thoughts, and insights have been churning through my mind. I found this guided pilgrimage journey through the spiritual territory of St. Francis all that I had expected, but more personally challenging than I ever anticipated. I hope to share some of that as my thoughts congeal into something I can write that will make sense.

The Italians have a lot of colloquial expressions that signify dismay, but I can’t find any as elegantly simply as “oops!” Any suggestions?

Author: tomwelbers

I have been a Catholic priest for nearly fifty years, most of that time serving in parish and college campus ministry. I also have professional degrees in theology and liturgy, as well as institutional management, and continue avidly to explore pastoral theology, Scripture, liturgy, ecumenical and interfaith relations, and spiritual direction. I have a passion for sharing insight into our Christian heritage through teaching, writing, and leading pilgrimages, especially to Early Christian World sites in Turkey. Now actively retired from parish ministry, I live at Nazareth House in Los Angeles.

2 thoughts on “How do you say “oops!” in Italian?”

  1. Dear Fr. Tom – I’m not sure what you are wanting to say “oops” to – is it that some empty posts got posted or is there something about the trip that is “oops”? The comment “personally challenging” could be a loaded subject. The completed posts that I did receive conveyed a sense of peace that made me envious. Can’t wait for you to get your thoughts together. In any event I am happy and relieved that you made it back home safe and sound. Blessings!

  2. Thank you for taking me and others on this pilgrimage of spiritual growth. You need not apologize for the mismanagement of information. It really was informative. The closest to “OOps” in Italian is “mi scusi”. That delivers the message.

Leave a Reply

