Pilgrimage to Assisi This Fall

I’ve signed up with Franciscan Pilgrimages to make a pilgrimage in the spirit of St. Francis to Assisi and Rome, from October 23 to November 4, 2015. 

We will visit the major places where events of St. Francis’ life took place, including San Damiano, where her received the call from Christ to “rebuild my Church”; La Verna, where he received the stigmata shortly before he died; and Greccio where he famously set up the first creche or Nativity Scene. The time in Rome will include not only St. Peter’s and the Vatican, but also major Franciscan churches and shrines.

Would you like to come with me? Let me know here or by email.

Don’t delay, departure is only about five months away!

All you need to know is on the Franciscan Pilgrimages website.

Information about the Assisi and Rome Pilgrimage options, including cost and sample itinerary, is here.

Registration information is here, but your best bet would be to call Sr. Linda directly at 414.427.0570 extension 223, and talk with her about the pilgrimage. Be sure to mention that you are interested in going with Fr. Tom Welbers on the October 23-November 4 Pilgrimage to Assisi and Rome.

Watch this video about the Pilgrimage:

And here’s a welcome from a few years ago:

If you are interested in coming, or thinking about it, or want more information, or would just like to keep in touch – maybe you can’t come, but would like to be with us in spirit or “virtually” – please let me know.  Here’s a convenient little information form you can fill out in less than a minute.

Since I’m entering into an active retirement this summer, I’m also beginning to plan two more Pilgrimages in the future.

In May 2016, I’m planning to lead a return to Early Christian World Sites in Turkey (and Greece) commemorating the Tenth Anniversary of the first Early Christian World Pilgrimage in 2006. In the past ten years, about 125 Pilgrims have come with me on this wonderful experience. I hope some of the Pilgrims from the past will want to come, and certainly some new folks. You can view my tentative itinerary here. No idea of cost yet, but I suspect you should budget about $5-6,000 overall. If you are at all interested, please let me know (on the “Pilgrimage Interest Form”) ASAP, because if I don’t have at least 20 who are at least on the verge of commitment by September, I’m pulling the plug.

I’d very much like to go to the Holy Land with the Franciscan Pilgrimages in the fall of 2016. It’s very important to me that this be totally under Catholic auspices. (See USCCB Holy Land Pilgrimage Guidelines.) Nobody knows the Holy Land better than the Franciscans – they’ve been there taking care of the Holy Places (as well as Pilgrims and Christians who live there) since the Middle Ages. Here’s information about their Holy Land Pilgrimages, which includes a sample itinerary and prices. Be sure to watch the short video.

And here’s a wonderful video about the Franciscans in the Holy Land:

Don’t forget to fill out my “Pilgrimage Interest Form” if you are at all interested in coming on any of these Pilgrimages, or at least staying in touch.

Author: tomwelbers

I have been a Catholic priest for nearly fifty years, most of that time serving in parish and college campus ministry. I also have professional degrees in theology and liturgy, as well as institutional management, and continue avidly to explore pastoral theology, Scripture, liturgy, ecumenical and interfaith relations, and spiritual direction. I have a passion for sharing insight into our Christian heritage through teaching, writing, and leading pilgrimages, especially to Early Christian World sites in Turkey. Now actively retired from parish ministry, I live at Nazareth House in Los Angeles.

1 thought on “Pilgrimage to Assisi This Fall”

Leave a Reply

