Ash Wednesday Reflections

It’s late in the day.  I have a very dirty thumb and a now barely visible smudge on my forehead.Guide to Ashes

Dust and ashes took on a new depth of meaning for me  today, as you can tell from my homily. If you weren’t at noon Mass today, it might be worth ten minutes of your time. What’s 10 minutes compared with 14 billion years?

[audio https://ia902602.us.archive.org/1/items/AshWedHomily/Ash%20Wed%20Homily.m4a]

More reflections tomorrow, God willing.

Author: tomwelbers

I have been a Catholic priest for nearly fifty years, most of that time serving in parish and college campus ministry. I also have professional degrees in theology and liturgy, as well as institutional management, and continue avidly to explore pastoral theology, Scripture, liturgy, ecumenical and interfaith relations, and spiritual direction. I have a passion for sharing insight into our Christian heritage through teaching, writing, and leading pilgrimages, especially to Early Christian World sites in Turkey. Now actively retired from parish ministry, I live at Nazareth House in Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

